Childhood memories and life destiny

What was the best books that you read during childhood? What if someone told you that they have something to do with your life’s destiny… A clue about who you truly are and what you are meant to do in this world?

Warning…I am a person super obsessed withthis concept. I find myself asking the question since I pretty much know myself. When I was in elementary school, I remember having a phone conversation with my best friend (no kidding, I vividly remember this moment). I was in our living room, standing up by the curtains, looking outside with a phone in my ear. Her and I discussed how we love doing ‘personality tests’ and why we were so into them. I told her I want to do all personality tests that are out there even if they promised a slight glimpse of who I am. Sad/Ironic, I must be a really lost child. Even to this day, every time I fill out a test, say Myers Briggs, Strengths Finder etc. I score differently enough to get different test results e-v-e-r-y t-i-m-e!

Well…That only means one thing: Search for my life-purpose continues, haha! One day I may write here that I finally found my lost ‘self’, who knows maybe by the end of this post:)

Anyway, back to the subject. I just listened to a video about the importance of childhood books that really resonated with you. It makes sense… When you are a child, you are less prone to pressures of society, wrong/distorted images of self due to ego issues or self-confidence problems. Your ability deny what really speaks to your soul is low! Add to this the miracle of totally random but ‘destiny-creating’ coincidences. (Do you also believe nothing is a coincidence and everything that happened, happened for a reason?) All of that comes together and makes sense: Think about what TV programs, books, characters, magazines, comic books etc resonated with you and then you have a new source of information about yourself!

Here is my list, sticking to the book category:

  • Around the World in 80 days, Jules Verne

“This book gave a message around values like loyalty,devotion, compassion, calmness and persistence. Fogg, the main character is very calm and determined to succeed. He tries his best to do the right thing. He is rational and smart. He acts when others do not. He thinks of how to solve the problem and does not allow the problem to drown him. That is his strength. His persistence pays off and thus he succeeds.”

around-world-80-days

  • Journey to the Center of World, Jules Verne

“Like many adventure stories, the theme is perseverance, continuing on the journey despite hardships, despite doubt, despite even reason. When there is every indication that the journey will be difficult, you keep on going, because the outcome is worth the struggle. If you believe it, it is worth pursuing, no matter what.”

journey-to-center

  • Jayne Eyre, Charlotte Brontë

“Jane Eyre, is very much the story of a quest to be loved. Jane searches, not just for romantic love, but also for a sense of being valued, of belonging. Over the course of the book, Jane must learn how to gain love without sacrificing and harming herself in the process. Jane is also struggling between her need for independence and her love quest. It is not until she found her true family that she enjoys marriage.”

Jayne eyre

  • Don Quixote, Miguel de Cervantes

“We live in a world that emphasizes realistic expectations and clear successes. Quixote had neither. But through failure after failure, he persists in his vision and his commitment. He persists because he knows who he is. He lives his life with passion and discipline, yet acts within the strictures of the art. Leaders can learn from Quixote, whose life was dedicated to imagination, commitment, and joy. The critical concerns of leadership are not technical questions of management or power, they are fundamental issues of life. ”

don kisot

There may be more but if the book’s name didn’t appear in my mind immediately, it is less likely to be the ‘symbol’ I am looking for.

So what did I learn?

I am puzzled how much misery and fight I need to put up to fight for what I believe if that’s what I’m supposed to take away (AHEM, universe!)

All these characters together are pretty much make up a crazy (wo)man that hears no-one but her own core beliefs about doing the right thing, following the right values and virtues. She is also seeking love incessantly but refuses to have it until she is happy by her own self.

Pretty good, a little scary, but encouraging!

Leave a Reply

